TERMS OF OFFICE OF INDIVIDUAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Report By: County Secretary and Solicitor

Wards Affected

County-wide

Purpose

1. To inform the Committee of the current terms of office of individual members.

Background

- 2. The Local Government Act 2000 introduced a framework to govern the conduct of members and co-opted members of local government and other public authorities. Part III of the Act requires the Council to set up a Standards Committee with the following role and functions.
 - Promote and maintain high standards of conduct by councillors and co-opted members.
 - Assist councillors and, where appropriate, co-opted members, to observe the Code of Conduct.
 - Advise the Council on the adoption or revision of the Code of Conduct.
 - Monitor the operation of the Code of Conduct.
 - Advise, train or arrange to train councillors and co-opted members on matters relating to the Code of Conduct.
 - Exercising these functions in relation to parish councils for which it is the responsible authority and the members of those councils.
 - Granting dispensations to councillors, co-opted members and church and parent governor representatives from requirements related to interests set out in the Code of Conduct.
- 3. Regulations published under the Local Government Act 2000 requires Standards Committees to be composed of at least two councillors (who may not include the Leader of the Council) and at least one person who is not a councillor or officer of the council or any other body having a standards committee (the independent member).
- 4. The current composition of the Herefordshire Standards Committee as set out in the Constitution is the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council, two independent members and two parish council representatives nominated by the Herefordshire Association of Local Councils.

- 5. Robert Rogers, Chairman of the Standards Committee, was re-appointed as Chairman and Independent Member by the Council at its meeting on 23 May 2003.
- 6. Richard Gething was appointed to succeed Marcus Allen on the recommendation of the Herefordshire Association of Local Councils, and took up office in June 2003.
- 7. David Stevens, independent member, was appointed by the Council at its meeting on 16 January 2004 for a term of office of 4 years.
- 8. John Hardwick was appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Herefordshire Association of Local Councils, at its meeting on 16th January 2004.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT this Report be noted.